Photo Gallery

To view the photos in our gallery just pick the album you want to view and click on the ‘Slideshow’ or ‘View Photos’ link. If you select ‘View Photos’ just click on one of the photos to see a larger image.

To return to all albums just click on the ‘Gallery’ link in the bar below or in the main navigation above.

President's Trophy Trial 2018

The President's Trial is run the day after the Ron Faulkner Trial (see album 37) and had the same gloomy weather but slightly less clinging mud for those on foot. The mud on the sections and the challenging layouts did present a problems to the 23 drivers and in the end Ian Wright emerged a worthy winner of the President's Trophy. Other class winners included Roland Uglow (IRS Red), Steve Courts (Live Red), Paul Faulkner (IRS Blue), Arthur Carroll (Live Blue), Philip Haines (Clubman's) and Sam Beare (Rookie). Congratulation to all of the award winners and many, many thanks to all the marshals, other event officials and the results team, over both days, for once again putting together a challenging but friendly pair of events. See you all again in 2019.
21 Philip Haines.jpg

Production Car Autotest, Petersfield, 30th July 2017

This was the eighth PCAT organised in conjunction with EHDC over the past 4 years. There was a good entry from both the Juniors and Seniors. It was pleasing to see a mixture of returning and new entrants in both sections. Our thanks are due to everyone who had a hand in helping to put on this event and they rewarded by huge smiles from all the youngsters, many of whom had never driven a car before this event. There should be two pictures of each entrant in this slideshow. We hope to run another PCAT next April/May and if you are interested please keep an ey on the Southsea MC website for more details nearer the time. Congratulations to all the winners andf in particular to Rowan Greenwood who won the Junior event and Stephen Jones who was the victor in the Senior classes.
30 Matthew Hall 2.jpg

The Ron Faulkner Trophy Trial 2018

The 2018 Ron Faulkner Trophy Trial attracted the largest entry (41) the club have had for an Historic Sporting Trial, but it was also decidedly gloomy on the day and the mud underfoot, especially in the paddock, extremely glutinous. The event was won by Paul Faulkner and Pete Luff; Stephen Barnes and Martyn Halliday were first in the Historic Class with Mark and Linda Howse took the honours in the Post-Historic class. There should be a photo here of all competitors apart from Jane Pye in car no 14 to whom I offer my apologies.
22 Martyn Halliday.jpg

President's Trophy Sporting Trial 2017New Album

The 2017 President's Trophy Trial attracted a disappointingly small entry, but was blessed with splendid sunny weather and plenty of marshals. Tyre pressures for the day were set at a high 10psi but this proved to be just right with the hills presenting a series of different difficulties for the crews. Overall winners were the Andy Wilks and Mark Smith crew, Andy's first National win. Red Class was won by Julian Fack and Meg Marrion: Blue Class by Alan Baker and Hilary Carrott: Novice Class was won by Phil Blagden and Kevin Judd and Philip Haines and Gordon Anderson were first in the Club Class and first Live Axle car. Congratulations to all competitors for an extremely entertaining day's trialling and many to all the marshals and organisers who made the event possible. Chris Phillips
23 Paul Price.jpg


8mm cine footage of the Southsea Motor Club speed trials at Thorney Island in the 1950s

Endurance Road Rally promotional video from Ross & District Motor Sports Club featuring current members of Southsea Motor Club